Trend Alert – Bold Pink Lips

It is clear that bold pink lips are a huge trend at the moment and I don’t think it is going anywhere any time fast. I have been obsessed with pink lips for about 6 months and I wanted to share my favorites with you. My pink lip inspiration definitely comes from one of my favourite characters on TV, Felicity Smoak from CW Arrow. Unfortunately though we have totally different colouring so a lot of the more purple tones she wears really don’t work with my complexion.

1x03

Okay, now onto my favourites that I keep reaching for time and time again…

1. The Body Shop Colour Crush Lipstick in Red Hot Raspberry 201 (RRP $23.95)

This is my absolute favourite bold lipstick at the moment. I would classify it as a true hot pink with a blue undertone. Not only is it a fantastically vivid colour for more intense looks but I can also tone it down by using it as a light lipstain with balm over the top for a more subtle look. The formula is particularly good as it is long lasting but still fairly creamy. It doesn’t dry out my lips at all. This lippie even smells good with the advertised “subtle rose scent”.

2. MAC Lipstick in Impassioned (RRP $36.00)

I have had this one for a while and I still love it. Actually I’m pretty sure it was the first bold pink I bought right after seeing the above scene and falling in love. This lipstick is more of a neon pink with a ever so slightly orange/coral tone. It has a creme finish which sets really well and has impressive staying power. It can be a little drying but no more so than any other long lasting formula. I generally apply it with NYX Lipliner Pencil in 835 Pinky (cheap and available from Target I think). This lipstick is more flattering than you would think and I would definitely recommend giving it a go.

3. Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Sweetheart Valentine 025 (RRP $17.95)

This is a much lower maintenance bright pink while still being a great colour and formula. With the above two lipsticks I generally apply them with a lip brush over lip liner for them to look best. This stain however just glides right on straight from the cute crayon packaging. It is a sheerer blue toned bright pink and would really suit those who prefer cooler toned makeup.

4. Revlon Colourburst Lip Butter in Sweet Tart 090 (RRP $21.95)

If the top three are just a bit too pink for you, fear not! This is a lovely, toned down alternative. It again is quite cooled toned but much lighter and easier to wear that the other more bold shades.  Also, if you haven’t tried the lip butters from Revlon you really should. I only have two but I am definitely going to buy more. Especially when they are half price at the Chemist Warehouse.

Others that are simply gorgeous and at the top of my wish list…

  • Nars Satin Lip Pencil in Yu (available domestically from Mecca Cosmetica for $39 or from UK based site HQ Hair for £17.50 with free international shipping)
  • Dior Addict Fluid Stick in Wonderland (RRP $50.00 from Myer and David Jones) – this formula is absolutely beautiful. I just bought it in the bright red shade “Pandore” and I will definitely be adding this one to my collection.
  • Harlotte Bright Lipstick in Temptress (RRP $30.00) – This Aussie brand has been a favourite of mine for a while and they have just branched out from their nude lip range to add a collection of four beautiful bright shades. I will also be doing a brand focus on Harlotte in the very near future so keep your eyes peeled.

1545698_737475966262599_1932354423_n

So let me know what you think of this new trend and the bold pinks you have found. Be brave and try on a nice fuchsia!

Leave a comment